Back

Best-rated Products

9 Item(s)

per page

  • Character Design Quarterly - Magazine Subscription

    27 Review(s)
    "Very Informative" - Michael, 20 May 2021
    " Character Design Quarterly has such a wide variety of content and viewpoints! It's interesting seeing all the different methods other artists use to create things and inspired me quite a bit to try different things myself. Very informative and a great source of inspiration! "
    Character Design Quarterly (CDQ) is an exciting print magazine for illustrators, artists, animators and character art enthusiasts. Releasing four times a year, the magazine offers inspirational and educational articles, tutorials and interviews from top industry professionals specifically geared to helping artists hone their character design skills. This unique, engaging magazine provides a regular stream of insider knowledge and illuminating advice from experienced professionals and freelancers to help artists of all skill levels improve their workflow and designs.
  • The Sketchbook of Loish - with signed bookplate

    13 Review(s)
    "Beautiful Art" - Rico, 20 May 2021
    " The book is exactly as described: the sketches of Loish. I live her work, and its great to be able to hold it in your hands and appreciate it in a more personal manner than on a computer screen. Great book, and great if you're looking for inspiration when developing your own style. "
    Over 25,000 copies sold worldwide!
    This book features an exclusive bookplate signed by Loish.

    The Sketchbook of Loish is the second published book by digital artist Loish (Lois van Baarle) after it was successfully funded on Kickstarter in four minutes. Showcasing a wide range of her traditional and digital sketches, this book features exclusive artwork, both old and new, by Loish, ranging from character sketches to environmental speed paints. Loish also offers insight and advice on key topics such as stylization and sketch development, making it a useful book for any artist looking for tips on approaching digital sketching as well as admirers of Loish’s work.

  • Mastering Comic Art (Download Only)

    8 Review(s)
    "Useful" - Patrick, 9 August 2018
    " Useful tips for creating and concise comic style art work. Leaves room for the readers own stylistic differences while showing a number of options on how to create an intricate artwork "
    The comic industry is huge! You only need to take a few seconds to think of the countless films that have been made off the back of successful comics to realise their importance in modern media. Although creating cool comic style images require a knowledge of many of the art fundamentals such as anatomy, color theory and light it also requires an understanding of techniques that may not be familiar to every digital artist. This eBook will talk you through the creation of a comic image while focussing on some of the processes that make comic art unique like the sketching, inking and coloring phases. If you are a fan of comics and would like to have a go at creating your own comic book illustration this eBook is a must.

    Regular Price: $13.90

    Special Price Incl. Tax: $4.19

  • Cartoon Creation 101 (Download Only)

    5 Review(s)
    "A Complete 101!" - Happi, 6 November 2017
    " It is one thing to have a great concept for a cartoon but it is another to execute the creation. Cartoon Creation 101 delves into the technical execution of character creation but completes the instruction by having the artists discuss why certain decisions were made! These insights are what makes this 101 book complete and well worth the purchase! "
    One of the first projects a student will tackle in their 2D education is the creation of a stylized character. Whether they're the heroes in the cartoons of our childhood, or those in the latest animated blockbuster movie, the beauty of cartoon characters is that they allow us to experience stories beyond our own limits. This e-book features top industry artists revealing how to design and digitally paint basic cartoon characters. Each artist reveals how to produce exploratory designs and show how to capture and reflect the personality of characters through expressions, costume and design.
    Incl. Tax: $13.90

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 02

    4 Review(s)
    "Amazing" - Simon, 3 December 2020
    " I missed issue 2 when it was originally released, finally got a copy, and it was worth the wait. Another fantastic issue, full of beautiful art work, tips, and interviews. Surely CDQ should stand for Character Design Quality "
    Character Design Quarterly issue 02 is bursting full of inspiration for artists, animators, illustrators and character art enthusiasts. Featuring detailed tutorials from talented professional artists Hicham Habchi, Andrea Femerstrand, Donna Lee and Enrique Fernández, the second issue of this refreshing high-quality print magazine is an excellent resource for anyone looking to develop their character creation skills.
    Incl. Tax: $15.37

  • Character Portrayal (Download Only)

    4 Review(s)
    "Great ebook, but very specific" - Jennifer, 2 July 2015
    " I like this book very much, althoug, I think it is not so suitable for beginners, because of the specific topics, I think one should know some basics to have really use of this ebook. But I think for more advanced drawers/painters it should be so inspriring and motivating like reading this book was for me! "
    You can tell a lot about a person by their face. You can tell their state of mind, where they are from, you can even make a guess about their character. For this reason being able to portray the features of a face correctly when doing character concepts is vital. In this series of tutorials our artists will be looking at how to tackle designing characters with very specific features, and will be showing us how to paint certain features that can be applied to different character types such as gaunt, obese, bruised etc. Being able to portray varying characteristics on you characters is a great way to add interest to your design and a story to your art. If you enjoy painting characters and want to take your creations to the next level, this is the eBook for you.
    Incl. Tax: $13.90

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 01 - SOLD OUT!

    3 Review(s)
    "An excellent resource!" - Sonya, 2 October 2017
    " One of my favorite art publications with lots of great advice, great profiles and really amazing art. The second issue was even better than the first. "
    Character Design Quarterly (CDQ) is an exciting new print magazine for illustrators, artists, animators and character art enthusiasts. Issue 01 features tutorials from incredible artists Max Grecke, Brett Bean, Simone Grünewald, and Shaun Bryant, plus advice from CreatureBox who created this issue’s amazing cover art. Disney character designer Amanda Jolly shares her advice for career success and the multi-award-winning animation studio Blue Zoo give an inside view of their dynamic studio. Lois van Baarle (Loish), Avner Geller, and Randy Bishop also share top tips for refining character designs, and much more!
    Incl. Tax: $8.38

    Out of stock

    Out of stock

  • Still Just Kidding - with signed bookplate

    1 Review(s)
    "Very funny book!" - Anita, 15 January 2019
    " Still Just Kidding is a very funny comic book! The quality of the book is also very good. I ordered the book to Finland and it arrived quite fast and in good condition. "
    This book features an exclusive bookplate signed by Cassandra.

    Cassandra Calin’s ability to document the hilarity of relatable everyday events in a series of webcomics has made her a worldwide success and generated a huge following on social media. In this book, not only can you find a collection of her best-loved comics, illustrations, and lots of original content, but Cassandra also offers a unique insight behind the scenes – sharing how she went from drawing on her parents’ furniture, to drawing a character with bad hair and high expectations, who continues to go viral to this day. Still Just Kidding is an excellent resource for any aspiring comic artist, but also for anyone who enjoys the humor and awkwardness of familiar situations..

    Incl. Tax: $33.51

    Out of stock

    Out of stock

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 03

    1 Review(s)
    "Very informative and visually appealing!" - Aishwarya, 11 October 2018
    " The CDQ magazine are some amazing content/reference books I've found and wish I hadn't missed out on the initial volumes. Some of my fav. artists have their interviews in this volume and reading about it has been super cool and fun. Can't wait to practice what I've learned and improve my skills as well. Thanks! "
    Character Design Quarterly issue 03 is bursting full of inspiration for artists, animators, illustrators and character art enthusiasts.
    In issue 03 exceptional artists Peter Han, Alberto Camara, and Daniel Isles discuss their work and diverse careers so far. Ida Hem, Almu Redondo, and David Ardinaryas Lojaya present detailed design tutorials on perfecting a character of your own with personality, balance, and interesting contrasts. We also speak to Birgitta Hosea, Head of Animation at Royal College of Art, London, about their internationally renowned animation course, and learn quick design tips from designers including Isadora Zeferino and Matt Howorth. Anna Cattish, the artist behind our striking cover image, discusses the artists and events that have influenced her work, and much more besides!
    Incl. Tax: $15.37

    Out of stock

    Out of stock

9 Item(s)

per page