Back

Best-rated Products

14 Item(s)

per page

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 06

    4 Review(s)
    "Amazing!" - Emma, 19 January 2019
    " Brilliant guidance and info for anyone passionate about this industry, all wrapped in a visually appealing coat of high quality binding. 10/10 "
    Issue 06 features a range of exciting artists and character designers to awaken your creativity! Self-taught artist Amanda MacFarlane discusses her engaging designs, Floriane Marchix chats to us about visual development on animated feature films, and James A. Costillo talks about the skills needed to become a successful Art Director. In this issue’s tutorials, comic artist Ivan Shavrin explains how to distinguish conflicting characters in a scene, Hollie Mengert creates a trio of characters featuring both contrast and cohesion, and Tata Che shows how a character can develop and adapt throughout a life span. Also in this issue you can find professional design tips from artists including Julia Christians, Luis Gadea, and Victoria Kosheleva. Plus, our incredible cover artist, Lois van Baarle (Loish), discusses her life and work as a freelance artist and shows the progress of creating this spectacular cover artwork!
    Incl. Tax: $13.34

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 08

    2 Review(s)
    "Exceptional magazine" - Casey, 22 May 2019
    " I picked this issue up due to Max Ulichney and Nicholas Kole being featured. As my first Character Design Quarterly issue, I was extremely impressed with the print quality and the advice contained within. The variety of artists and information is comprehensive as well as engaging, and clearly helpful. I hope CDQ continues to publish issues and doesn't go under like Graphite! "
    Issue 08 is teeming with fantastic original content from talented international designers. Peek inside the fascinating creative practices of Max Ulichney and Nicholas Kole, and meet the man behind the stunning cover art; Ramón Nunez. As you dive deeper into this issue, you will grasp how to effectively guide the viewer to increase readability like Dave Bardin and jump into drawing successful dynamic action poses with César Vergara. Discover award-winning designer Nikolas Ilic’s reimagining of a classic pirate captain while Alexander Cho reveals the power of color and its ability to dramatically alter the mood of your designs. And finally, to complete our exhilarating journey, explore the adrenaline-fueled dinosaur universe created by Toni Reyna for his informative tutorial on devising unique related characters.
    Incl. Tax: $13.34

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 07

    1 Review(s)
    "Good!" - AJ, 20 January 2019
    " As always is a very nice book with interesting interviews and insights! For me it's a nice way to discover new artists since I'm not very handy with internet research, and also a way to rediscovers those that I already know. "
    Inside issue 07, designers including Steph Laberis and Haley Justice offer valuable lessons, such as how to make impactful changes to your designs through the use of shape language, and transforming animals into memorable and successful characters. Eduardo Vieira composes a quartet of distinctive characters with an intrinsic connection – heavy-metal music! Combatting stereotypes is tackled by Anthony Wheeler, and Jens A. Larsen Aas has advice on strengthening characters through simple stylistic effects. Discover informative insights into the entertainment industry as Dani Diez, Elsa Chang, and Dirk van Dulmen discuss their creative practices. Meanwhile, Isadora Zeferino and Sheena Dempsey lead us through the fascinating world of the children’s book industry. Finally, cover illustrator Cécile Carre shares the skills that have propelled her from qualified engineer to accomplished character designer.
    Incl. Tax: $13.34

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 09

    "" - , 18 September 2019
    " "
    Within the pages of issue 09, discover an array of enthralling artwork, interviews, and tutorials from some of the industry’s best international artists. Study an in-depth tutorial by Jefrain Gallipoli and learn to effectively develop a character whose appearance perfectly encapsulates the feeling of amazement. If you are looking to begin with the basics, listen to Tom Hänni as he speaks the language of shape, and offers tips on how to loosen up and get started. For aspirational experience, advice, and masterful artwork, peruse interviews with versatile creator, Patrick Schoenmaker, imaginative children’s book illustrator, Lina Dūdaitė, and renowned Disney veteran, Armand Serrano.
    Incl. Tax: $13.34

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 10

    "" - , 18 September 2019
    " "
    Within the pages of issue 10, discover an array of enthralling artwork, interviews, and tutorials from some of the industry’s best international artists. Learn how to redesign classic characters in an in-depth tutorial by Ioana Sopov as she demonstrates how to update the evil queen character trope. And if you’re looking to create a journal of ideas for future projects, Jose Ciceraro shares tools, techniques, and mindsets for keeping a sketchbook. For aspirational experience, advice, and masterful artwork, read interviews with skillful concept artist, Haimeng Cao and whimsical designer and illustrator, Kelsey Buzzell. Plus, catch critically acclaimed artist and illustrator, Tom Booth, talking about his varied career and enchanting cover art.
    Incl. Tax: $13.34

  • Sketch Journal - Tool Set

    "" - , 18 September 2019
    " "
    The Sketch Journal tool set brings together carefully selected tools that are high quality yet practical enough to be used on the move.
    Incl. Tax: $21.82

  • How to keep a Sketch Journal

    12 Review(s)
    "Very inspiring!" - Anna, 14 January 2019
    " I really liked this book for being a lose guideline on how to start and pursue a sketchbook. It is full of ideas and tips that really motivate to start sketching. I would recommend this book for anyone who needs a little inspiration and help to get started with a sketchbook. "
    For anyone interested in sketching, sketch diaries, and drawing from everyday life, How to Keep a Sketch Journal is a colorful and informative collection of techniques, artwork, and insights. There are countless ways to fill your journal and so many exciting materials and methods to use ¬- this book aims to capture them in a fun and eclectic primer that has something for everybody, whatever their skill level.

    Regular Price: $16.97

    Special Price Incl. Tax: $6.07

    Out of stock

  • Sketch Journal Premium Bundle

    5 Review(s)
    "High Quality" - Lars, 6 September 2017
    " The package has a great quality and has a great size for carrying around. I found the book quite inspirational and it encouraged me to try out new techniques. "
    The Sketch Journal bundle is a travel-sized artistic solution to enable you to carry the tools, inspiration, and advice you need to keep a daily record of your life. The bundle incorporates the informative How to Keep a Sketch Journal guide book teamed with a high-quality leather-covered watercolor sketchbook, quintessential artist tools, and a soft leather sleeve to wrap everything up as a compact artistic companion.
    Incl. Tax: $42.44

    Out of stock

    Out of stock

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 04 - SOLD OUT!

    3 Review(s)
    "Super interesting " - Marion, 8 August 2018
    " The first issue I received from my yearly subscription. A lot of different experiences shared from professional character designers, and their process to start building their character. "
    Issue 04 features the work of talented professional character designers including Christophe Jacques, Stephanie Rizo Garcia, and Nikolas Ilic. Kacey Lynn demonstrates how to design a character for a fairytale, Guille Rancel explores ways to depict pride, and Jeremy Hoffman creates an aged polar warrior with a twist. In this issue’s interviews, Karoline Pietrowski and Kenneth Anderson share insights into their working lives, and Luis Gadea shares his advice and experience on developing a successful character design career. Plus, learn how to design characters specifically for children with Jeff Harvey, and discover the art and passions of Pernille Ørum, the artist behind this issue’s fantastic cover!
    Incl. Tax: $13.34

    Out of stock

    Out of stock

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 01 - SOLD OUT!

    3 Review(s)
    "An excellent resource!" - Sonya, 2 October 2017
    " One of my favorite art publications with lots of great advice, great profiles and really amazing art. The second issue was even better than the first. "
    Character Design Quarterly (CDQ) is an exciting new print magazine for illustrators, artists, animators and character art enthusiasts. Issue 01 features tutorials from incredible artists Max Grecke, Brett Bean, Simone Grünewald, and Shaun Bryant, plus advice from CreatureBox who created this issue’s amazing cover art. Disney character designer Amanda Jolly shares her advice for career success and the multi-award-winning animation studio Blue Zoo give an inside view of their dynamic studio. Lois van Baarle (Loish), Avner Geller, and Randy Bishop also share top tips for refining character designs, and much more!
    Incl. Tax: $13.34

    Out of stock

    Out of stock

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 03 - SOLD OUT!

    1 Review(s)
    "Very informative and visually appealing!" - Aishwarya, 11 October 2018
    " The CDQ magazine are some amazing content/reference books I've found and wish I hadn't missed out on the initial volumes. Some of my fav. artists have their interviews in this volume and reading about it has been super cool and fun. Can't wait to practice what I've learned and improve my skills as well. Thanks! "
    Character Design Quarterly issue 03 is bursting full of inspiration for artists, animators, illustrators and character art enthusiasts.
    In issue 03 exceptional artists Peter Han, Alberto Camara, and Daniel Isles discuss their work and diverse careers so far. Ida Hem, Almu Redondo, and David Ardinaryas Lojaya present detailed design tutorials on perfecting a character of your own with personality, balance, and interesting contrasts. We also speak to Birgitta Hosea, Head of Animation at Royal College of Art, London, about their internationally renowned animation course, and learn quick design tips from designers including Isadora Zeferino and Matt Howorth. Anna Cattish, the artist behind our striking cover image, discusses the artists and events that have influenced her work, and much more besides!
    Incl. Tax: $13.34

    Out of stock

    Out of stock

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 02 - SOLD OUT!

    1 Review(s)
    "Great" - Łukasz, 5 January 2018
    " It's awesome! "
    Character Design Quarterly issue 02 is bursting full of inspiration for artists, animators, illustrators and character art enthusiasts. Featuring detailed tutorials from talented professional artists Hicham Habchi, Andrea Femerstrand, Donna Lee and Enrique Fernández, the second issue of this refreshing high-quality print magazine is an excellent resource for anyone looking to develop their character creation skills.
    Incl. Tax: $13.34

    Out of stock

    Out of stock

  • Character Design Quarterly issue 05 - SOLD OUT!

    1 Review(s)
    "Great reading and reference" - Carolyn, 4 November 2018
    " The tips I picked up were great. Plus the magazine introduced me to some inspirational artists, who I now follow on Instagram. "
    Inside issue 05 is a host of extraordinary character designers including Kun Vic and Paul Schoeni, who share the secrets of their successful careers. John Loren illuminates the subject of lighting, while Dung Ho leads a fast and effective warm-up exercise. Tutorials packed with practical ways to improve your character design include Guilherme Franco’s guide to depicting fury with impact, James A. Castillo’s engaging circus troupe, and Alexandra Frantseva’s multi-genre ninja-warrier concept. Ester Conceicao deals with anthropomorphism, while Kévin Roualland reveals how to develop an authentic fantasy character. Plus, Beatrice Blue’s enchanting cover design is broken down to show how she tells a story within a single scene!
    Incl. Tax: $13.34

    Out of stock

    Out of stock

  • Sketch Journal Bundle

    "" - , 18 September 2019
    " "
    The Sketch Journal bundle is a travel-sized artistic solution to enable you to carry the tools, inspiration, and advice you need to keep a daily record of your life. The bundle incorporates the informative How to Keep a Sketch Journal guide book teamed with a high-quality hardback sketchbook, quintessential artist tools, and a soft leather sleeve to wrap everything up as a compact artistic companion.
    Incl. Tax: $38.80

    Out of stock

    Out of stock

14 Item(s)

per page